New Marketing Trends

Marketing Ideas for Non-Profits and Libraries

The M Word helps librarians learn about marketing trends and ideas.

Sunday, May 01, 2011

Strategic Communication Webinar

This looks like a useful webinar:
Transforming Our Image from PLA via ALA Online Learning

I always remind librarians to communicate in the language of the audience they're addressing at the time (students, seniors, kids, city officials, engineers, etc.) and to avoid library lingo. This webinar takes it further by really addressing strategic communication. The way you present a concept, and the words you use, can have a tremendous effect on how it's received. (Just watch politicians to see the power of language and spin.)

I haven't taken this webinar before, but apparently this is an encore performance by Valerie J. Gross has served as President and CEO of Howard County Library System in Maryland. Details:

Wednesday, May 18, 2011
2:00–4:00 PM Eastern / 1:00–3:00 PM Central
    12:00–2:00 PM Mountain / 11:00 AM–1:00 PM Pacific

PLA Member: $28
ALA Member: $31.50
Nonmember: $35
Group of any size: $129

No comments: